h1

Lana Del Rey & the Icelandic Convenience Store

June 15, 2012

Most of my last few blog posts have been long, maybe too long. So I decided that I am going to start writing some posts about my trip that are 250 words or less. Enjoy.

When I was alone, in a strange land, and everything (the stars, the sky, the light, the language, the people, the smells, the buildings, the signs, the writing, the culture, the style, the clothes) is different, I found great comfort when I saw things from America.

After walking in a jet lagged haze around the desolate moonscape that is Iceland, I found myself stumbling into a 24-hour convenience store looking for alcohol (to help me sleep), vitamin water (I was so terrified of getting sick at the beginning of my trip), and lunch for the flight to Germany then Paris when Lana Del Rey’s Blue Jeans played over the speaker.

Her soft, dream like voice, and references to American culture didn’t answer my question, “How the hell did I end up in an Icelandic convenience store?” But it made realize that despite how different everything was, I was okay.

I clumsily put my items in the checkout “ramp,” and the clerk scanned my Icelandic malt beverage (whoops), crackers, ham(?), and vitamin water, and asked if I wanted a bag. I declined. “They’re free,” she added. I relented, why fight her? “751.11,” she said. I gulped hard as I handed her my BECU debit card without knowing how much 751.11 króna was in dollars.

Lana finished with “say you’ll remember, oh baby, say you’ll remember, I will love you till the end of time,” as I left the store. And a few hours later, I left Iceland.

Leave a Reply

