h1

A First Kiss… of Sorts

December 22, 2010

Generally, I am a great kisser. Over the years, I have received many compliments on my kissing abilities – garnering points on style, technique, and timing. But as I wrote in my last blog post, I have never been the type of person who kisses on the cheek. And in fact, when a woman leans in to kiss me on the cheek I have generally panicked, and didn’t know what to do. My actions (or rather inaction) around kissing on the cheek has made the experience awkward for both parties. And I try to avoid it at all costs.

But the other night, I had a few glasses of wine at our holiday reception at the Rainier Club. After the reception, I headed down to SoDo to go to Full Pull Wines to pick up a delivery. I was wearing a full suit and a dark maroon tie. The warehouse was full of friends and acquaintances. We loaded the wine into my car and Paul started to close down for the evening. My friends gathered their coats and started to leave.

At that moment, I grasped my friend Elizabeth’s left shoulder with my right hand. With my eyes, I honed onto her right cheek. And I leaned in and I kissed it. The whole exchange took mere seconds. I felt as if a sea of pressure had been lifted from me. I successfully kissed someone on the cheek. And it felt natural and not weird.

I will always remember that cold December night when I had my first kiss with Gretchen. But now, I will always remember my first “kiss on the cheek.” Elizabeth, thanks for being my first.

Leave a Reply

