h1

Boyfriend Confusion

December 2, 2007

It was 6:30 p.m. and I was starving tonight. Having nothing to eat at my place, I braved the incoming storm and ran to Safeway to pick up things for dinner. I grabbed bread and peanut butter and placed them into my basket before heading into the meat department. I needed to choose between beef or chicken for the stir-fry I was going to make.

As I stood there comparing prices this girl walks up to me, puts a bag of bagels into my basket and says, “Oh you are getting bread?” I look up at her and I say, “I think you have the wrong basket.” She looks up at me and turns completely red as she realizes that I am not her man but a complete stranger. She quickly grabs her bagels and runs over to her boyfriend. I see him standing across the meat department laughing his ass off as he realizes that his girlfriend walked up to the wrong person.

It turns out that her boyfriend and I look quite similar – we were both asian, about the same height, and were wearing a black fleece. I saw them later in the dairy department and I flash them a smile. She just shakes her head in embarrassment.

Leave a Reply

