h1

A Glass of Water – Without Ice

October 2, 2007

First, let me apologize for not writing. I had written an entry about my recent love life. But it was shit. It was dribble. I rambled with no point. I don’t know if the experiences were too fresh to write about or if they offered any insight to my inner self. And that is why they remain as an unsaved word document open on my computer. Anyway?

When I saw Dr. Vicki Fidler back in 2005, she told me that I needed to get my wisdom teeth out. During this first appointment, she told me that there was a good chance that I would need root canals on the teeth in front of the wisdom teeth. Awesome.

While at Business Week at Pacific Lutheran University, my right tooth hurt like hell. I thought I had the dry rot from the wisdom teeth extraction. It got worse while I was in Spokane for the program at Gonzaga. With my wisdom teeth extraction, my benefits were maxed. But lucky for me, my benefits at PNRI started August 1 and on August 1, I had an appointment for my first root canal. The pain unbearable at that point. I couldn’t chew on that side. Water from the refrigerator was out. So was milk. The anesthetic didn’t work very during the first visit and there was times when I could feel the drilling in my teeth. To put it simply, it was hell.

On the second tooth, the Fidler thought she could get away with a filling – this would prevent me from getting a root canal. So about a month ago, I go in for a filling. My tooth wasn’t hurting but there was decay in the x-ray and she wanted to take care of it. Well needless to say, the filling made it worse. I was popping pills for pain. At one point over the weekend, I woke up in the middle of the night from the pain. It was awful. I called the Fidler and she scheduled me for an emergency root canal on Monday. And tonight I am pain free.

She wants me back in for two crowns on those root canals. But I think I can handle that. But lucky for me my yearly max in dental benefits has been reached. So she scheduled the appointment for mid January at 7:00 a.m. Bright and early.

Before my root canal, I had dinner with my old coworker Shannon. I told her about my problems and she just shook her head and professed to me that I have “third world teeth.” I laughed at her overtly racist comment as I asked the waitress for another glass of water without ice.

Leave a Reply

