h1

A Week of Rest and Relaxation

August 27, 2007

As I alluded in my last posting, I went to Palm Springs. It was a fantastic trip. Filled with relaxation, drinking, hanging out and tanning. I finished a couple of books, read the latest issue of the New Yorker cover to cover and did I mention drinking?

There was an interesting article in the New York Times that said American’s don’t take enough time off each year. And when I thought about it, before my trip to Palm Springs, I had only taken four days off in the past year. One day to paint my apartment, one day to drive over to Spokane and two days for my wisdom teeth recovery. Europeans have it too easy.

Photo of Justin and I outside our condo in the Oasis Resort. Photo courtesy of Nick Peyton. Photo taken on August 13, 2007.

Photo of Justin and I outside our condo in the Oasis Resort. Photo courtesy of Nick Peyton. Photo taken on August 13, 2007.

Photo of Justin in Joshua Tree National Park. I believe it was 150 degrees when I took this photo. Photo taken on August 15, 2007.

Photo of Justin in Joshua Tree National Park. I believe it was 150 degrees when I took this photo. Photo taken on August 15, 2007.

A photo of a lonely Joshua Tree. Scientists say that if current global warning patterns continue they could be extinct in 50 years. Photo taken on August 15, 2007.

A photo of a lonely Joshua Tree. Scientists say that if current global warning patterns continue they could be extinct in 50 years. Photo taken on August 15, 2007.

Photo of Justin and I in one of the eight pools at our resort. Photo taken on August 14, 2007.

Photo of Justin and I in one of the eight pools at our resort. Photo taken on August 14, 2007.

Photo of the sunset at Laguna Beach. While the sun was going down, the night was just about to get started. Photo taken on August 16, 2007.

Photo of the sunset at Laguna Beach. While the sun was going down, the night was just about to get started. Photo taken on August 16, 2007.

One last photo of Justin, Melanie and I at Laguna Beach. Photo taken on August 17, 2007.

One last photo of Justin, Melanie and I at Laguna Beach. Photo taken on August 17, 2007.

While in Southern California, we headed over to Joshua Tree National Park, spent a couple days in Laguna Beach and took a tram 8000 feet above Palm Springs. The average high was 112 degrees everyday and at 10:00 p.m., it would cool off to 102 degrees. Despite the heat, it was a perfect vacation.

Check out more pictures from the trip at my picasa album.

Leave a Reply

