h1

Come As You Are

March 26, 2007

I am stuck in Aberdeen. That’s right, I am in the paper loving, spotted owl hating, rain soaked forgotten town located twenty miles outside of the pacific ocean. The reason I am here in the deforestation capitol of Washington is to run one of our famed programs for Washington Business Week. It is a scheduling fluke that I am here in the ‘deen (a team coined by myself and adopted by our staff) alone. Our executive director is in Dallas, the program manager in Moses Lake with our volunteer coordinator and our student recruiter is on the road, recruiting. Top that off with our office manager getting married this weekend, there wasn’t that many options.

Driving here on Sunday was magical. It was a perfect day. The sun was shining and everything was great. Even today was a perfect day until about 5:00 p.m. when it began to pour. I have three interns working for me at the high school. I really can’t say that they are truly working for me. But they do my bidding without question. Come to think of it, it is like a faux stanley milgram experiment. They seem to do anything I ask without question – make 250 copies, count out stats of 16, organize the markers, get the food from the cafeteria, make ice in the nurse’s station and deliver random papers to people.

I went to dinner by myself where I wanted a paced dinner where I could read my book. But by the time I was halfway through my salad; my over cooked new york steak arrived. The review on google said The Bridge, has the best steaks in town. I don’t doubt it. But you have to remember, in the land of the blind, one-eyed is king. I think I am going to head out to the ocean tomorrow, have dinner and finish my book. I wrote once that Olympia is a strangely lonely city. But after spending two nights in the ‘deen already, I must retract that statement. I have never seen a city as lonely as Aberdeen. There is an interesting wiki article about Kurt Cobain and Aberdeen and the tribute to him as you enter town. I think the last sentence in the article illustrates my point nicely.

This is the photo of the Kurt Cobain tribute sign in Aberdeen, WA. Photo taken on December 13, 2005 and is courtesy of wikipedia.

This is the photo of the Kurt Cobain tribute sign in Aberdeen, WA. Photo taken on December 13, 2005 and is courtesy of wikipedia.

Leave a Reply

