h1

New Tully’s Girl?

February 14, 2007

The fun of moving to a new place is exploring the new neighborhood. Finding new restaurants, stores and most importantly, coffee shops. The closest coffee shop to my apartment is called Insomniax and despite its misleading name, it is only open until 6:30 p.m. I walked into Insomniax for the first time today – Valentine’s Day. The girl behind the counter wished me a Happy Valentine’s Day. I told her that it was pretty funny seeing all the people carrying flowers around. She then asked me my Valentine’s Day Plans.

Last week I went on a date. It went well. Two days later, I ask her if she had plans for the following week. I asked her if she wanted to go out to dinner on Wednesday. She said yes. It took me four days until I realized that Wednesday was Valentine’s Day but by the time I realized it, it was too late to cancel. A second date on Valentine’s Day – there could be worse things but Valentine’s Day in Seattle is brutal. All the local restaurants have special menus and they want reservations. It would have been a little awkward having a second date on the most romantic day of the year. But luckily for me, her co-worker got the flu. And she had to cover her shift on Valentine’s Day night. We are scheduled for this Monday now.

Anyway, I told the barista at Insomniax my Valentine’s Day predicament and she thought it was funny. After getting my coffee, she reached out her hand to me and said, “Hi my name is Anna what’s yours?” That was the best way to start in a new neighborhood. Anyway, today I had some meetings in Seattle and I took a couple Valentine’s Day photos with my cell phone camera.

I saw this man walking out of a flower shop in downtown Seattle. I thought it was a good image for the day. Photo taken on February 14, 2007.

I saw this man walking out of a flower shop in downtown Seattle. I thought it was a good image for the day. Photo taken on February 14, 2007.

Leave a Reply

