h1

Sarah from Seattle

February 2, 2007

I have been meaning to write this entry for a while, but I have been procrastinating. But since I woke up this morning with a little insomnia, I thought I would take this time and write about a girl I met in November.

It was during the conference when I met this girl named Sarah. She was quite pretty and smart and I found her striking in a group of random graduate students. As I worked the room during the happy hour, I ended up talking to her and her friend Amber until the event ended. They told me that they were going to Karaoke and they wanted me to go.

An hour later, I found myself walking down the Ave to the Karaoke bar. At the bar, I talked to Sarah and Amber and laughed at the bad singers – this would be the first event of many in which we spent time together.

Over the next couple of days, we chatted about everything. She said she is a self-admitted “square,” a little bit of an introvert and is currently studying classics. And in a random conversation with another person, which I overheard, she uttered the most deflating words a single guy can ever hear, “my boyfriend.” I had suspected as much. How can a girl this pretty and smart be single – especially in graduate school? I knew that I must not have been the first person to have a crush on her.

By the time I realized she had a boyfriend, I was already vested in our three-day friendship. National conferences are strange like that. You meet people that have the same interests, backgrounds and face the same problems. But most often, you will never see each other again. It’s like having a great conversation with someone on a plane. By chance you end up sitting next to them and you hit it off, but you realize you live in different regions of the country.

But with Sarah, it was a little different, she grew up in Seattle and her parents still live here.

The last night of the conference, I told her that we would have to hangout when she was in town for Christmas break and she agreed. And between the conference and Christmas, we emailed a couple of times and chatted online. She told me when she was going to be home and said that she would call me.

After Christmas and before New Years, I get a random phone call at 11:30 p.m. on a Wednesday night. Half of asleep, I race over to my phone and in the darkness of my apartment I struggle to find it. I look at my phone and I see “1 Missed Call,” and I wait for the message to be left. I listen and I get the following message, “[Loud music and voices in the background] Hi Nick, it’s Sarah! Amber and I, with some of our other friends are here at a bar in Capitol Hill, I don’t know what you are doing right now, but you should come out.” I considered this for a moment, but then realized that I had work the next day.

The next day I call Sarah’s phone and I leave a message. I also sent her a quick text message too. A couple of days go by and I hear nothing from her. I call her phone again – nothing. Weeks pass and by this time, I know she is back at school over on the East Coast. And since that phone call, I have never received any communication from her again.

I halfway expected to never hear from Sarah again after the conference. That’s how conferences are. That would make sense. What does she owe some random guy she met two months ago? But it was Sarah that called me. She extended the communication branch. Often I try to figure out people’s motives. And I cannot figure out why she would call, if she didn’t really want to see me. Maybe it is the classic case of a drinking and dialing. Maybe life happened to her on her winter break. Maybe she simply forgot. Oh well. Soon Sarah from Seattle will fade from memory but until then, I will always wonder what happened and always wonder why she called me in that random night in December.

Leave a Reply

