h1

Twenty Minutes Before Destruction

December 29, 2006

A couple weeks ago, we had the storm of the century – a comment made from our portly mayor. Flash flooding turned streets into rivers, made tunnels impassable and made my already long commute (jammed up from a random home seahawk game on a Thursday), even longer. After the rain completely soaked the ground and the wind blew for hours. Half of Seattle lost power sometime during the storm – I was very lucky, my lights only flickered once or twice.

That night I was heading over to Paul and Kelli’s for dinner. And because of the storm, we had a late dinner. When I go over to P & K’s house, I always park underneath the streetlamp. Their street is dark and is lined with trees that border the popular Burke Gilman Trail. So the streetlight provides much needed light. And that stormy night, the streetlight shined brightly for me when I arrived.

I had been over at their place for a couple of hours when the wind started to howl. The trees along the trail began to crash against a power line, which was connected to the streetlight. And in jest, Kelli suggested that I should move my car. Just in case, something happened. I walk outside to move my car and I began f around in the wind. Pretending it was blowing me away. I get in, start my car and park it across the street. I head back inside and we continue to watch the best show on television, HBO’s the Wire.

Twenty minutes later, we hear “CRRRAAAASSSSHHHHHH” and the sound of glass breaking. The tree pushing the against the power line and finally brought down the entire streetlight. The pole, the live wire and the tree lay in the middle of the street. And had I not moved my car twenty minutes earlier, my 2000 Toyota Camry would have been completely totaled. I took a picture the following day with my cellphone. I apologize for the lack of clarity. But you can clearly see the tree and the pole. I am glad I moved my car with twenty minutes to spare.

 You can see the broken streetlight in the middle and the fallen tree is on the right of the photo. This cell phone picture doesnt quite capture the destruction well enough but it should give you an idea. Photo taken on December 15, 2006.

You can see the broken streetlight in the middle and the fallen tree is on the right of the photo. This cell phone picture doesn't quite capture the destruction well enough but it should give you an idea. Photo taken on December 15, 2006.

Leave a Reply

