h1

Happy 10th Anniversary

October 31, 2006

I remember when I was a kid there was a promotion every year at McDonald’s where you could get a happymeal and it came in a themed candy bucket – I actually found a photo of it on google (see below). I loved that happymeal bucket. In the lid, there was a small second lid that removed and you could put all your night’s booty through. Excellent design. When I got older, I saw that kids were using pillowcases to hold their candy. And soon, greed took over and I switched from the happymeal bucket to the pillowcase. Just today while driving the lonely stretch of road from my apartment to the Way, I was thinking that McDonald’s should do that happymeal promotion again. But it is probably too costly now to put all happymeals sold in October in a plastic container like that. Also, it is probably bad public policy to put greasy fast food in a candy bucket. But those were the glory days. What’s better than candy and McDonalds?

A photo of the McDonalds Happymeal Candy Bucket. It is quite possible that this was the greatest McDonalds promotion ever. Sadly, I think I had all three - thank you mom and dad for my love of candy and fast food.

A photo of the McDonald’s Happymeal Candy Bucket. It is quite possible that this was the greatest McDonald’s promotion ever. Sadly, I think I had all three – thank you mom and dad for my love of candy and fast food.

I mention Halloween because it has special meaning for me. It is an anniversary of sorts. My best friend Justin and I first hung out outside of school for the first time on October 31, 1996 – when I was a mere freshman in high school. So Justin and I have been bff since then. Ten years. He has stood by me through it all – my parents divorce, my back surgery, college, grad school and we even lived together for a while. It is weird to think about how long we have known each other. Well happy anniversary Justin – sorry I didn’t buy flowers, but I hope after ten years, you will forgive me.

Leave a Reply

