h1

I Think I Have an Ulcer

October 30, 2006

I think I have an ulcer. I used to get ulcers when I was an undergrad. Back then I put tons of pressure on myself to perform well in school. To the point where I made myself get ulcers during finals. So the doctor put me on meds and I have been taking four zantac a night since then. Fast forward to now. I have a new job in fundraising. I have tons of pressure to perform. I am planning a national conference and it is less than three weeks away. And I have been drinking coffee and alcohol to help me deal with all the stress. Well human body can only take so much. So I am off alcohol and coffee. I am trying to workout more and eat better. I have a doctors appointment tomorrow but she(?) will tell me everything I already know. I am hoping she prescribes me some good ol fashioned drugs. Anyway.

So this conference has been kicking my ass. If I could go back in time and give myself one message, it would be not to sign up for the conference. There are a million details that have to be addressed at any given time and it seems like I never have time. But now I am ranting. You don’t want to hear this. Well since I last wrote, I went on a Farm Tour, see the pictures below. It was pretty fun. I went to a grant writers conference – it seemed like people go to these things seeking validation for their work. Imagine 300 people in a room not quite sure they are in a real profession – that is what grant writers feel like everyday. Lucky for me, I only write grants as part of my duties. I met Mike McGavick. I found myself in Belfair, Washington outside a community center on a random Saturday night and I see this rally going on. It was a McGavick rally. I run up to him calling out his name and he turns around and shakes my hand. It was clammy and I needed hand sanitizer to wipe the republicaness off me.

 A photo of me walking through the fog at the WSU Farm Tour. This is a small Christmas tree Farm outside of Auburn, Washington. Photo by my friend Katherine, taken October 7, 2006.

A photo of me walking through the fog at the WSU Farm Tour. This is a small Christmas tree Farm outside of Auburn, Washington. Photo by my friend Katherine, taken October 7, 2006.

A photo a stray cat at the WSU Farm Tour. This was taken at a small Christmas tree Farm outside of Auburn, Washington. Photo by me, taken October 7, 2006.

A photo a stray cat at the WSU Farm Tour. This was taken at a small Christmas tree Farm outside of Auburn, Washington. Photo by me, taken October 7, 2006.

 A photo of two alpackas at the WSU Farm Tour. This was taken at a small farm outside of Auburn, Washington. Photo by my friend Katherine, taken October 7, 2006.

A photo of two alpackas at the WSU Farm Tour. This was taken at a small farm outside of Auburn, Washington. Photo by my friend Katherine, taken October 7, 2006.

I feel like I am slowly getting my life into control. I have been going nonstop since starting this new job and it is nice to stay in and clean my apartment. As weird as that is, it is nice. So my promise is to write more and be on top of things and keep my faithful reader(s) reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

