h1

Untitled – March 10, 2006

March 10, 2006

When I was a kid, I remember my parents always being excited when the car went over a certain mileage on the odometer. Whether that was 10,000 miles or 100,000 miles, there was always some celebration. Well when I bought my car in June, it had about 43,000 miles on it. The other day when I was driving to Olympia, my car went over 50,000 miles. I thought this occasion needed to be photographed. As I drove on I-5 outside of Tacoma, I reached down to grab my cell phone from the center console. As I grasped it I started to fumble with it. I barely got the cover opened. I stumbled through the features on my phone before I got to the camera. Meanwhile, my car is going back and forth out of control in the early morning traffic. I finally hit the right features and snapped this photo.

Photo of my odometer at 50,000 miles. Camera photo by Nick Peyton.

Photo of my odometer at 50,000 miles. Camera photo by Nick Peyton.

I don’t know if it was worth it almost crashing my car to take the photo. You can see my speed is well over sixty miles per hour – and in hindsight that seems scary. I always thought it was strange that my parents were excited by mileage and the significance of a random even number. But after risking my life to take that photo, I am beginning to understand.

Leave a Reply

