h1

Untitled – November 21, 2005

November 21, 2005

I found myself in Bellingham, Washington yesterday. I attended the second Washington Student Lobby meeting of the year. This group helps unite the five public universities in the state and develops unified higher education policy goals to achieve. I drove the UW crew up the 87 miles to the meeting. It was foggy the entire way there. Sometimes, it was very hard to see. Then about five miles outside of Bellingham, the skies suddenly cleared. The sun shined through the clouds and it was beautiful. The sun reflected off the orange and yellow trees in the forest and their contrast with evergreen tree was amazing. We turned around a corner and started up a hill and we entered the fog again.

It is amazing how diverse the state is. The Cascade Divide split universities on issues like green energy and diversity. UW and EWU partnered on their opposition to a legislative mandated statewide student association. And UW went alone on support of equal rights for gays and lesbians. About five hours later, the five schools had crafted a good legislative agenda. I made sure that graduate and professional student issues were brought to the table. And many parts of my language made it to the agenda.

As I was driving, I wondered if the fog represented something more. I wondered if it foreshadowed this upcoming legislative session or this school year or life to come. I guess we will have to wait to find out.

Leave a Reply

