h1

Untitled – October 30, 2005

October 30, 2005

I am sorry I have not written in a while. Life has been crazy. In the past two weeks, I have worked about 60 hours, gone to all of my classes and have completed all of my required homework assignments. Include with that, lunch with Dan Evans and Bill Gates Sr., a report to UW’s Board of Regents and a many, many nights of drinking. I have been burning the candle on both ends, and probably burning it through the middle too. That is why it was nice leaving Seattle yesterday.

I received an invitation to go out to my friend’s place on Vashon Island for a pumpkin carving party. They have some property out there and a small farm. My friend Kelli and I left her place at 2:00 to reach the 2:20 West Seattle ferry heading to Vashon Island. As we pulled up to the ferry landing at 2:19, I watched as the gate closed down, and the ferry left us behind. About 30 minutes later, we boarded the next ferry. Here are some pictures from the ride.

Photo of me on the ferry to Vashon Island on October 29, 2005. Photo by Kelli Larsen.

Photo of me on the ferry to Vashon Island on October 29, 2005. Photo by Kelli Larsen.

Photo of my friend Kelli and I on the ferry to Vashon Island on October 29, 2005. Photo taken by Nick Peyton.

Photo of my friend Kelli and I on the ferry to Vashon Island on October 29, 2005. Photo taken by Nick Peyton.

It was great being on the farm. It was exactly how one would expect it to be. A narrow dirt rode led up to the farmhouse. A neighbor’s dog greeted us. A fairly large spider crawled onto my shoulder. A pot of homemade soup, with vegetables grown on the farm, simmered on the stove. And large orange pumpkins provided a colorful contrast to the tall green grasses. There were three awards given to for the carving contest. Most creative, Scariest, and the Charlie Brown Award – renamed from ‘Most Lame.’ Despite some mild lobbying to the judges, I received the Charlie Brown award. It was a great afternoon and it was great leaving the city.

Leave a Reply

