h1

Untitled – July 21, 2005

July 21, 2005

My friend Katie (nicknamed Kate Beckinsale) is the treasurer of the Evans School Student Association. Part of this “distinguished” honor is paying the water bill for the cooler we have in our student lounge. During the summer, we had two things happen: an administration shift – placing Katie in power, and all the students left for the summer. With those two things happening, no one paid the water bill. During a gathering the other night, Katie asked if I would be on campus and if I could pay the bill – I agreed. Armed with a blank check and a stamp I started my quest.

First, I decided I would call the company and see if I could just send them a check. I called Mountain Mist Bottling Company. They needed one of three pieces of information – A name that the account was in, the exact billing address, or the serial number from the unit. I gave them any name I could possibly think the account would be in, and every version of the billing address – no luck. My next step was to talk to Anna, the secretary at the Evans School. Anna had no idea where the water bill was. She told me to talk to Linda Lake – the second most terrifying person at the Evans School. I went up to the second floor to talk to her. Linda in a surprisingly good mood, told me to talk to Maria Tebbs on the third floor.

I arrived at the third floor, extremely winded, to find the elusive Maria. I get to her office and ask for her, and the secretary there says she is on jury duty for three days to a week and that I should just email her. My great water cooler bill quest had ended without much resolution. Deflated and depressed, I begin to walk down the stairs to the first floor. I was about to leave, when I had a thought to myself, “I wonder if the water cooler is still there?” There was a good chance if no one had paid the bill, it might have been taken away. I enter the code to the lounge and walk in. I look over at the cooler and see the name of Crystal Springs, not Mountain Mist Bottling Company. I could not help but to laugh aloud.

Leave a Reply

